Formula Pro USA Season Champion Scott Huffaker PR1 Motorsports FIA F4 West Coast CaliforniaHuffaker closes out the season with 2 wins and the championship

Sonoma, California
September 19th, 2018

The Formula Pro USA Western Championships were a featured series during the IndyCar Grand Prix of Sonoma this past weekend. The event served as the season finale for the IndyCar 2018 schedule, and Andretti Autosport driver Ryan Hunter-Reay took the IndyCar Series win, while Chip Ganassi Racing’s driver Scott Dixon secured the 2018 Championship.

This was the first time that the Formula Pro USA championships were paired with the Verizon IndyCar® Series, and FPU had featured races on Saturday and Sunday.

Qualifying Top 3:

  1. Scott Huffaker 1:40.019
  2. Kyle Loh 1:40.625
  3. Ryan McElwee 1:40.928

Race one got off to a clean start, and Huffaker not only took a commanding lead but put some other cars that were not running for F4 points in between him and his other competitors. Late in the race, a yellow flag came out and there was a restart, but Huffaker got another great start and held onto it until the checkered flag. Kyle Loh secured second, and series newcomer Anson Pfaff took the final spot on the podium.

FIA F4 California Ryan McElwee secured pole position for Sunday's race.

Ryan McElwee secured pole position for Sunday’s race.

Race two’s pole position was determined by fastest lap time in race one, and that was awarded to Margraff Racing’s Ryan McElwee. McElwee held the lead for the first handful of laps, but Huffaker was able to get by him by lap four and went on to secure the win and season championship. Loh and Pfaff rounded out the podium again on Sunday

“We really couldn’t make this event what it is without the support of our teams and partners,” noted FPU Series Official Brent Morgan. Really this was such a fabulous event, and it provided fun and opportunity to everyone who attended. Once our races were over, we presented the awards and then the racers and their friends and family were able to enjoy watching some really great entertainment. The Porsche GT3 and Historic Trans-Am races, the Patriot Jets Air Show, and of course the final IndyCar race of the season.”

Cody from PR1 Motorsports was awarded Mechanic of The Year for his dedication and focus on Huffaker's car.

Cody from PR1 Motorsports was awarded Mechanic of The Year for his dedication and focus on Huffaker’s car.

While this double-header was the regular season finale, it also marked the first weekend of the 2018 Exclusive MotorWorks President’s Cup Award. This special championship, which is for select FPU competitors, will take place during two of the biggest open wheel racing events in the United States; the Verizon IndyCar Season Finale and the Formula One event at Circuit of The Americas. The selected drivers for this championship are Scott Huffaker, Kyle Loh, Calder McWhinney, Ryan McElwee, and Anson Pfaff.

The Formula Pro USA series is growing, and many more cars have been ordered and are expected to compete in the 2019 season. The series is currently working on dates for the 2019 championship, and more information will be provided in an upcoming press release. Next up for the championship is the double-header supporting Formula One in October at Circuit of the Americas.

More information: